Paleo (and Whole30) Costco Staples

We shop at Costco once a week and the items they carry constantly rotate, so I’m always finding new things (and spending too much money!). I’ll usually do the bulk of my grocery shopping at Whole Foods, HyVee or Trader Joe’s on the weekend and then make a stop at Costco during the week after the gym. It’s easily the most cost effective option (at least in our area) for staples like organic chicken and eggs.

In the future, I’ll do “What I bought at Costco” type posts with some of the new items I find. This list, for the most part, are the items I find in my cart regularly.

Produce

Costco is an excellent source for organic produce. The only issue, I feel, is that it rotates often, so while I might be able to find organic sweet potatoes one week, they are gone the next. Here are some of the produce items I buy pretty regularly:

  • Organic Blueberries
  • Organic Strawberries (usually only in the summer)
  • Organic Apples
  • Organic Pears
  • Organic Bananas (so cheap!)
  • Organic Broccoli
  • Organic Spinach
  • Organic Mixed Greens
  • Organic Carrots (don’t ever buy baby carrots, though… anywhere!)
  • Organic Spaghetti Squash
  • Butter lettuce (I love using these for turkey wraps or in place of taco shells on Whole30)
  • Brussels sprouts (sometimes, they have organic)
  • Organic Sweet Potatoes (when they have them – they are the best I’ve found)
  • Organic sliced and bagged apples (because I like convenience and it’s like $6 for a huge bag)

photo_feb_15_17-06-57-31-am

Meat

Our Costco always has organic chicken. Thighs are about $4.50/lb, drumsticks $1.99/lb and breasts around $5.99/lb. I will usually buy 2 packs of thighs (‘cuz they’re the best) weekly and then either a pack of drumsticks or breasts, depending on what I have on the menu. They’ll typically have organic ground beef and turkey, too. I also bought a whole organic turkey around the holidays and it was great!

photo_jan_12_17-06-45-54-pm

Open Cooler Section

Is that what you call it? Do you know what I’m talking about? The tall coolers after the meat but before the freezer isles without doors on them. I don’t spend as much time as I should in this section looking for new products—I just dart in for the essentials.

photo_feb_02_17-06-28-13-am

Our Costco typically carries both organic ham and organic turkey deli meat (both brands are Whole 30 are compliant as they do not contain carrageenan, but check the labels on the brand your Costco carries).

photo_feb_15_17-06-57-58-am

The single serve packs of organic guacamole are an absolute staple in our house. We put them on everything. Totally Whole30 compliant, too.

Freezer Section

If I have time, I’ll wander up and down these isles just to see what is available. I typically don’t buy a ton from the freezer section—if we’re on a smoothie kick, I’ll get a big bag of organic frozen berries and in the summer I like to keep a bag of the organic grassfed beef patties to throw on the grill.

Refrigerated Section

This is another section I don’t spend a ton of time in, I usually just go straight to grab 4 dozen (yep) cage free organic eggs. They come in 2-dozen packs for about $6. My brother and I cannot STAND the sound that the containers they come in make, so I bought us both these egg containers from Amazon for Christmas. Totally worth it!

photo_jan_12_17-06-57-32-pm

Most Costcos will carry Kerrygold Organic Grassfed butter. If you’re in Wisconsin, for whatever reason, they don’t.

Pantry Items

Costo has been killing it here lately. Every time I go in, I’m finding something new that is at least Paleo, sometimes Whole 30 compliant.

photo_jan_12_17-06-46-18-pm
These Figgy Pops are great. They’re like pre-made versions of “energy balls.” I’ve seen a couple different flavors before but the cranberry pistachio one is my favorite because it’s the cleanest (the other flavors have oatmeal in them). It could even be okay on Whole 30. I stress could for two reasons:
One: they have organic dried cranberries in them. The cranberries are sweetened with organic apple juice, which is totally okay on Whole 30. But they also have sunflower oil. While sunflower oil is not explicitly excluded on the Whole 30 (because it would nearly be impossible to dine out if that were the case), vegetable oils should typically be avoided. Because it’s such a minuscule amount here, I wouldn’t be too concerned about it.
Two: These things are delicious. If they become a “no brakes” food for you (i.e. you cannot stop eating them), don’t eat them on Whole 30. I personally do not have an issue with them. I travel a lot for work, so these are the perfect type of snack to keep in my bag for when a compliant meal isn’t in my near future.

photo_jan_12_17-06-46-03-pm
The same company that makes the Figgy Pops has a variety of dried fruit like dates and apricots. We don’t eat a ton of dried fruit, but it is nice to throw in a couple pieces with a handful of almonds for a snack. Or wrap them in bacon.

Costco is also a great place to buy bulk nuts – walnuts, almonds, pecans, pistachios, etc.

photo_jan_12_17-06-44-21-pm
I do not recall how much I pay for this two-pack of Franks Red Hot, but it’s a steal. Franks Original (not some of the other flavors) is Whole 30 compliant, too!

photo_jan_12_17-06-44-34-pm
Another staple – canned organic coconut milk (Whole 30 compliant). They also typically carry boxed coconut milk beverage, too. I’ll buy it just to have in my pantry, but we don’t use it a ton since the canned stuff is more “pure.” It is good for smoothies, though.

photo_feb_15_17-06-31-37-am
Almond flour
is a paleo baking staple. I also use it as thickener, breading, etc in Whole 30 recipes. Costco has this 3-lb bag for around $12. Unheard of!

photo_jan_12_17-06-44-52-pm
I was very excited to see this avocado oil mayo at Costco. I think it was about $8. It’s larger than the jars I get from Thrive Market, but it does have honey in it so it is not okay on the Whole 30.

photo_jan_12_17-07-02-01-pm
I do nearly all my cooking with avocado oil since it has a higher smoke point than other oils, so it is safer. This 33.8 fl oz bottle is a great price.

photo_feb_15_17-06-32-00-am
I went nuts (pun intended) when I saw these Simple Mills almond flour crackers at our Costco yesterday. It was around $8 for a large box with two bags inside. These paleo crackers consist of Whole 30 compliant ingredients, however I’m not sure if I’d be comfortable eating them on Whole 30. I’ll do some more research and let you know.

Wow… that got long! Let’s just say that our rewards check at the end of the year is pretty nice. What are your favorite Costco items?

7 thoughts on “Paleo (and Whole30) Costco Staples

Leave a Reply

