Maple Mustard Brussels Sprout Salad

I went the first roughly 25 years of my life not eating what are now three of my favorite foods: Bacon, Brussels sprouts and potatoes. What?! My mom would try everything to try to get me to eat potatoes, but it was a no-go. I was never a huge fan of bacon and I don’t think I even saw a Brussels sprout until college. I can’t imagine my life without them, now!

This salad recipe uses two of these foods: bacon and Brussels sprouts. And kale. If we’re being fair, I don’t think I had Kale until my late twenties, either.photo_feb_12_17-06-50-14-pm

My husband, Cody, typically doesn’t like salad as a meal as he *thinks* they are not filling. This, however, is definitely one that leaves him satisfied. The Brussels sprouts are cooked in bacon and then layered over kale and arugula that has been tossed in a sweet and tangy maple mustard vinaigrette. If you are doing Whole30, either make the vinaigrette without the maple syrup (it will still be delicious) or use a prepared vinaigrette such as TesseMaes. Also make sure to use compliant bacon like Pederson Natural Farms.

 

On a night when we don’t work out, we can get three servings out of this recipe. If we make this after the gym, we typically finish it in one sitting. I’ve also left the chicken off and served it as a side. If I can’t convince you to eat Brussels sprouts, you can leaves those out as well.

Enjoy!

Maple Mustard Brussels Sprout Salad

Serves: 3

  • .5 lbs Brussels Sprouts, ends trimmed, cut into ribbons
  • 2 slices Bacon, chopped
  • 1 D’Anjou pear, sliced
  • 1/4 cup walnuts, roughly chopped
  • 1.25 lbs cooked chicken breast or thigh (about three servings)*
  • 2 large handfuls of Arugula
  • 2 large handfuls of Kale
  • Maple Mustard Vinaigrette (Modify to Whole 30 by omitting maple syrup or usuing a regular balsamic such as TesseMaes)
    • 4 Tbsp olive oil
    • 1.5 Tbsp maple syrup
    • 1 tsp red wine vinegar
    • 2 tsp Dijon mustard
    • 1/4 tsp garlic powder
    • salt and pepper to taste

*If you do not have cooked chicken on hand, start the chicken first. It should need 30-35 minutes in a 350 degree oven.

  1. In a medium fry pan, fry the chopped bacon until nearly crisp.
  2. Add in the Brussels Sprouts slowly so you do not splatter the bacon fat. Add salt and pepper to your taste. Cook, stirring occasionally, for 5 minutes.
  3. While the sprouts are cooking, prepare the salad. In a large bowl, combine kale, arugula, sliced pear, and walnuts.
  4. Make the dressing. Add all ingredients to a small mason jar and shake well. Pour dressing over salad and toss to coat.
  5. Divide salad in to three servings. Top with Brussels sprout and bacon mixture, evenly divided. Serve with the chicken on top.
Leave a Reply

